The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch

Published tomorrow by Simon & Schuster, the secret diary kept by the tragic and darkly twisted Laura Palmer contains important clues as to the identity of her killer and is the start of the enthralling mystery and cult tv show Twin Peaks.

With a foreword by co-creators Mark Frost and David Lynch, this book from Jennifer Lynch is a must for all fans of the tv show and movie.

Tomorrow you can get hold of the book, but for now here’s an exclusive extract to whet your appetite.

So, go brew yourself some damn fine coffee, cut a slice of cherry pie and read……..

 

THE SECRET DIARY OF

LAURA

PALMER

JENNIFER LYNCH

Excerpt by kind permission of Simon & Schuster

To the person invading my privacy:                                                                                                                                                           September 15, 1984

I cannot believe the distrust I feel in my family and friends. I know for a fact that my diary was taken and read by someone, maybe several someones. I will not be writing any more in this diary for a long time, if ever. You have ruined my trust and my feeling of security. I hate you for that, whoever you are!

On these pages I have written things sometimes too scary or too embarrassing even to read again myself….I trust that these pages are turned only by me, only when I wish. Many things are hurting and confusing me. I need my private pages, in order to see my mind outside me, push it away.

Please stay away from this diary.

I mean it.

Laura

 

 

Dear Diary,                                                                                                                                                                                                              October 3, 1985

I have decided, over twelve months later, to begin speaking to you again. I have found a hiding place I will not speak of, in case you are found outside it and someone nosy wishes to know of its whereabouts.

I know it was not your fault someone found you and decided to pry, but it has taken me a long time to feel safe enough to write in your pages again. Many, many things have happened since you last heard from me, and many of these things have proven that my thoughts on the world’s being mostly a cruel and sad place are true and have been confirmed as such.

I trust no one, and only rarely myself. I struggle most mornings, afternoons, and evenings with what is right and what is wrong. I do not understand if I am being punished for something I have done wrong, something I don’t remember, or if this happens to everyone, and I am just too stupid to understand it.

First of all, I found out that Dad did not give Troy to me. Benjamin Horne did. The details are not important, but let’s just say I overheard Audrey arguing with her dad about it, when I was up at the Great Northern visiting Johnny. Johnny is Audrey’s brother, Benjamin’s other child. Johnny is slow. He is older than I am, but has the mentality of a young child. That’s what the doctors say at least.

Sometimes I think he’s just chosen to keep quiet because it is so much more interesting sometimes to just listen to people instead of talking to them. He never speaks except to say “Yes” or “Indian.” He loves Indians. He wears a headdress constantly. One made of beautifully colored feathers and died strips of leather. In his eyes the world is a strange mix of happiness and pain, and I think I understand Johnny more than I do a lot of other people. Perhaps I could find a way to spend more time with him. He is so often left alone.

I am glad that Troy is my pony, and I love riding him, walking with him, and just watching him graze. But now I feel awkward about Dad. Like he is less of an honest man for claiming that Troy was a gift from him. Maybe Benjamin wanted it that way, I don’t know. But no matter what, I am somehow more intrigued by Benjamin now and feel like I owe him more than Dad.

Sometimes I think that I would rather not have gotten a pony of my own at all, because that way I wouldn’t have lost any respect for Dad, and Benjamin would just have been Benjamin. Even worse, Audrey and I will probably never ever get along now. I am a little sick inside that I am the one who caused this. Also it gives me a feeling of power. Why do these things happen to me?

You know, I think out of all of the men I know in the world, Dr Hayward has been the most loving to me. He is unselfish, kind, and always shows me a gentle smile of inspiration of forgiveness – or anything that somehow always perfectly fills the gap I feel inside me. Thirteen years ago, he brought me into the world and held tight to my small body, for just a moment. In daydreams, I imagine that moment to be one of the warmest there ever was in my life. I love him for holding me, that frightened young child fresh to the air and light, and for making me believe, without even a word, that he would hold me again if I ever needed him to.

He reminds me of someone I wouldn’t mind seeing every day of my life. A grandfather sweetness, inside a father’s helping hand.

I’ll be back after dinner. There is plenty more news.

Love, Laura

1 Comment

Filed under Book news, Coming soon

One response to “The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch

  1. Intriguing, I wonder why they have bought this out now, after all this time? Will it solve the mystery, though? I loved the first series of Twin Peaks but after that it seemed to go right off the rails into illogicality and silliness, so I can’t recall if the TV series ever reached a conclusion. It was a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

