FRAGILE MINDS by Claire Seeber

Published by Avon (HarperCollins) – out now.

My first Claire Seeber novel, but certainly not my last – especially as I’ve been buying up her previous books since starting to read this latest one.

I think the comparison drawn on the back cover that it’s ‘A compelling read for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah’ is well justified in this instance – the book has an unnerving quality and the reader just knows that more bad stuff is going to happen, but is left totally unsure as to which direction it may come from next or from which of the well-crafted characters.

Kicking off with a bombing outside the London School of Ballet, and all the parallels that draws to the real 7/7 attack in London, the book then follows a cast of characters with each being given alternate chapters in which to tell their part of the story as it unfolds.

The two key players in Fragile Minds are Claudie who works at the Ballet school and DCI Joe Silver – both are damaged characters before this tale even begins and both are characters I really enjoyed and would love to read more of.

The story plays on memory, and the loss of memory – a theme that seems fairly current in a few recent crime titles, characters having some knowledge of the horrific event, others digging into their memories to search for anything they think might actually link themselves to its execution.

If I had one criticism, and it is a very minor one, it’s that I found I lost my way a few times with characters who took new identities or who were revealed to not be who we first thought they were – but that may well be an effect of my own aged memory and bears little reflection on the quality of writing here and the great story that is Fragile Minds.

With a exclusive and very good short story at the back of the book too, Fragile Minds is highly recommended.

Read more about Claire and here work at  www.claireseeber.com

Keith B Walters

Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “FRAGILE MINDS by Claire Seeber

  1. Pingback: WHOSE TRUTH? | Claire Seeber

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s