Daily Archives: April 11, 2013

Wentworth Miller to adapt Richard Parker’s novel Scare Me for Relativity Media

Exhibit A, the new crime fiction imprint of award-winning publisher Angry Robot, is delighted to announce that, in a deal brokered by The Gotham Group and ICM Partners, major Hollywood studio Relativity Media has acquired the film rights to Richard Parker’s psychological thriller Scare Me and has signed Prison Break actor Wentworth Miller to adapt the novel for screen.

Miller’s debut screenplay Stoker, starring Nicole Kidman and directed by Chan-wook Park, premiered at the Sundance Film Festival and was subsequently released to wide critical acclaim.

Scare Me tells the story of a wealthy businessman who receives a phone call in the middle of the night asking him, ‘When did you last google yourself?’ He discovers a website with photos of the inside of his own home, along with six other houses he’s never seen before, inside one of which a gruesome murder has already taken place.

Author Richard Parker said, “Relativity is the perfect home for this project and Wentworth Miller has the sort of dark sensibility that makes him the perfect screenwriter to adapt it.”

Exhibit A acquired dramatic rights to Scare Me as part of a two book deal with Richard Parker last year. Scare Me will be published in the UK and US in paperback and eBook this May.

Keith

2 Comments

Filed under Book news

Exhibit A Signs Matteo Strukul in Two Book Crime Fiction Deal

Exhibit A, the new crime fiction imprint of award-winning publisher Angry Robot, has signed award-winning Italian author Matteo Strukul for two novels.

Exhibit A’s Commissioning Editor, Emlyn Rees, bought World English rights in The Ballad of Mila and Black Queen: The Justice of Mila from Allan Guthrie at Jenny Brown Associates.

The Ballad of Mila tells the story of female Italian Bounty Hunter, Mila Zago, a.k.a. Red Dread. Abandoned by her mother and violated by a gang of criminals just after they slaughtered her father, Mila is a cold-blooded killer, a deadly assassin. Brought up by her grandfather on the Sette Comuni plateau under a rigid martial code, she returns home to seek her revenge, conspiring to create a spectacular showdown reminiscent of A Fistful of Dollars.

Exhibit A’s Commissioning Editor Emlyn Rees said: “This is concise and thrilling storytelling of the highest order. Imagine Elmore Leonard behind the wheel of a car in Grand Theft Auto. Only twice as brutal and fast.”

Exhibit A will publish The Ballad of Mila in June 2014 simultaneously in the UK and US in paperback and eBook.

The author, Matteo Strukul, is also a well-known graphic novel writer. Together with international artist Alessandro Vitti (MARVEL and DC), he created Red Dread, a comic book series with Mila Zago as protagonist, which was awarded the Premio Leone di Narnia as “Best Italian comic book series of the year”. Matteo is also the artistic director of the Sugarpulp Festival and line editor of Revolver, a crime fiction imprint of Edizioni BD.

For more information on Matteo Strukul, visit http://www.matteostrukul.com, follow him on Twitter @MatteoStrukul, or see his Facebook page.

Keith

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

HARVILL SECKER BUY TWO MORE BOOKS IN THE SWEDISH SERIES SET TO BECOME THE NEW THE KILLING FOR THE BBC

Alison Hennessey, Senior Crime Editor at Harvill Secker, has bought the next two books in Arne Dahl’s award winning crime series, adaptations of which the BBC will be broadcasting in the same Saturday night slot that turned The Killing, Borgen and The Bridge into household names. Hennessey bought UK & Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights from Tor Jonasson at the Salomonsson Agency.

Alison Hennessey, Senior Editor at Harvill Secker says: ‘We knew when we acquired the first two books in Arne Dahl’s crime series that he would go on to become one of the leading lights of our crime fiction list, and I’m delighted to have signed up the next two installments in this gripping, intelligent series. Arne’s books are perfect for fans of Henning Mankell and upmarket, international crime so we couldn’t be more delighted that the BBC will be screening the Swedish tv series.’

To the Top of the Mountain, the book that won Arne the prestigious German Crime Prize, sees Detective Paul Hjelm and his team coming back together after the traumatic events at the end of Bad Blood to investigate a series of crimes – a man killed in a random attack in a restaurant, another blown up in high security prison, rumours of a forthcoming terrorist attack. In Europa Blues, winner of the Best International Thriller at the Dutch Book Awards, the team try and establish links between the execution of a man at Stockholm zoo, the abduction of 8 Eastern European women from a refugee centre and the horrifying murder of a professor at the Jewish cemetery in a case that will extend across Europe and back through time.

Arne Dahl is an award-winning Swedish crime novelist and literary critic whose books have been translated into over twenty languages. He will be attending Cuirt, Bloody Scotland and Edinburgh International Book festivals this year. The first book in the series, The Blinded Man, was published straight into Vintage paperback in July 2012 with Bad Blood coming from Harvill Secker this July.

Keith

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Exhibit A Signs Terry Irving for Two Faster than Hell Political Crime Thrillers

Exhibit A, the new crime fiction imprint of award-winning publisher Angry Robot, has signed 4-time Emmy award-winning writer and producer, Terry Irving, for two novels

Exhibit A Commissioning Editor Emlyn Rees, bought World English, translation and dramatisation rights in Courier, plus an as-yet unnamed sequel, from Dean Krystek at Word Link USA.

Courier is the first in the Freelancer series of breakneck-paced thrillers, featuring Rick Putnam, a Vietnam veteran and motorcycle courier for one of Washington’s leading TV networks.

In addition to 4 Emmys, the author, Terry Irving, has also won 3 Peabody Awards and 3 DuPont Awards. He has been a producer, editor or writer with ABC, CNN, Fox and MSNBC.

Terry Irving commented: “I started my career racing through Washington on a motorcycle and getting published by Exhibit A is damn near the most exciting thing to happen since.”

Exhibit A Commissioning Editor Emlyn Rees said: “Courier is a super fast thriller, set in 1970s America, with a lead as cool as Easy Rider playing detective against a host of rogue US government elements determined to bury the truth.”

Exhibit A will publish Courier in May 2014 simultaneously in the UK and US in paperback and major ebook formats.

For more information on Terry Irving, visit his website at http://www.terryirving.com or follow him on Twitter @terryirving.

Keith

1 Comment

Filed under Book news, Uncategorized